Archive for May 13th, 2009

I like it!

Yesterday at dismissal a student and I were sharing seating space on a rock waiting for her parents to pick her up. A teacher came by and asked me how are things going in the “unschool.” Before I could say anything, the student piped up, “I like it!”  Wow, I thought.   You do?  Why?   She said that she gets to choose what she wants to work on and then she can give herself little breaks throughout the day.  Her passion is writing,  so she chooses quite a few writing blocks throughout the day.  This student is not a problem student. She is well behaved and works well under any circumstances.  What urban democratic school  did for her was allow her the time to pursue her passion. As a result, instead of the  traditional  hour per day of writing workshop, she can have multiple times per day to visit and revisit her writing – just like a real writer would do.

Saved by the Bell…Not

We’re near the end of our read aloud book and the story is riveting and I am conscious of the time hoping that the bell will sound in a suspenseful moment. A student walks in and I ask did the bell go off. He said no one started the timer. YIKES! I stopped reading anyway and got the pleasure of hearing the groans.